serving the citizens of michigan since 1877

On the Front Line

For over 130 years, the Michigan Sheriff's Association has been a leader in providing education, training and programs in your community and to your Sheriff and his staff.  Current issues include Safe Schools, Teenage Driver Safety, Identity Theft, Homeland Security, Senior Citizen Safety, Victim Service Teams, Mental Health and Line of Duty Death Assistance.


Collectively, through the Michigan Sheriffs' Association, the 83 Sheriff's Offices enjoy a single voice in meeting the needs of policing at the county level. Working towards improved, professional standards to better serve and protect the citizenry, the Michigan Sheriffs' Association is constantly striving to meet the following goals.

  1. Preserve and enhance the role of Sheriff as the chief elected law enforcement officer in the county.

  2. Institute training and education programs in relation to concerns, trends and developments in law enforcement.

  3. Support effective law enforcement coverage of traffic and safety.

  4. Deter crime through prevention programs at both state and local levels.

  5. Assist in mutual administrative concerns regarding correctional facilities.

  6. Maintain a leadership role in support and enactment of appropriate law enforcement legislation to best serve the needs of the Sheriff and the citizens of Michigan.

The Michigan Sheriffs' Association at a Glance

  • Formed in 1877, the Michigan Sheriffs' Association is the oldest law enforcement organization in Michigan.

  • It is the only organization that officially represents the Office of Sheriff in Michigan.

  • Represents the concerns of Sheriffs, their offices and other criminal justice members.

  • Maintains and enhances the constitutional Office of Sheriff by representing it to the general public; members and agencies of state and county government; and other aspects of the criminal justice system.

  • Provides a variety of educational resources to Sheriffs and other criminal justice professionals, and to the general public.

  • Monitors pending legislation, court decisions and state funding resources that affect jail and department operations and local services

  • The Michigan Sheriffs' Association NEVER solicits donations by telephone or permits unsavory tactics to solicit donations from members or prospective members.

MSA Presidents

1932-34 Fred C. Frantz – Berrien

1934-35 Thomas C. Lovett – Jackson

1936-40 George L. Coyler – Mason

1940 Charles L. Miller – Berrien

1940-45 William Nestle – Gratiot

1945-47 Ferris E. Lucas1 – St. Clair

1947-48 Tom Wallcott – Genesee

1948-50 Hugh Blacklock – Kent

1950-52 William Miron – Delta

1952-53 John Kilborn – Emmet

1953-55 Albert Jacobson – Marquette

1955-57 Merrit R. McBride – Huron

1957-58 Robert J. Russell – Gratiot

1958 John W. Miller – Bay

1959 Willard P. Barnes – Ingham

1959-62 C.A. Kackmeister – Saginaw

1962 Robert W. Dougan – Newaygo

1963 Elton Sampson – Montcalm

1964 Robert Stites – Lenawee

1965 Edward P. Sandri – Iron

1966 Thomas E. BellGenesee

1967 Elwin J. Smith – Eaton

1968 Richard Weiler – Grand Traverse

1969 Kenneth Preadmore – Ingham

1970 Keith Wilhelm – Branch

1971 Richard Germond2 – Lenawee

1972 Ronald H. Parsons – Kent

1973 Lester A. Almstadt – Macomb

1974 Donald Grein – Osceola

1975 Richard Zink – Emmet

1976 Ross Dundas – Sanilac

1977 Bernard Grysen3Ottawa

1978 Richard Stump – Van Buren

1979 John P. O’Brien – Genesee

1980 James Northrop – Cass

1981 Forrest Jewell – Berrien

1982 Joseph Maino – Marquette

1983 Richard Stokan – Huron

1984 Garth Meyer – Roscommon

1985 Philip Heffron – Kent

1986 John Robitaille – Delta

1987 William Hackel – Macomb

1988 Norman Heinemann – Branch

1989 James R. McNutt – Midland

1990 James Routsala – Houghton

1991 David O. Wood – Barry

1992 John Grabowski – Cheboygan

1993 A. James LaJoye – Shiawassee

1994 Howard Haskin – Clare

1995 Edward Berkompas – Chippewa

1996 Terrence L. Jungel4Ionia

1996 Carl Van Wert* - Monroe

1997 Nelson “Jerry” Canon – Kalkaska

1998 Donald Charlevoix – Dickinson

1999 Gene Wriggelsworth – Ingham

2000 Dan Lane – St. Clair

2001 John S. Reder – Midland

2002 Gary R. Carlson – Delta

2003 Thomas N. EdmondsKalamazoo

2004 Thomas T. Kern – Tuscola

2005 Michael H. Lovelace – Marquette

2006 Gary A. Finstrom – Wexford

2007 Michael S. Mercer - Newaygo

2008 Matthew Lori – St. Joseph

2009 Brian J. McLean – Houghton

2010 James Bosscher - Missaukee

2011 Lawrence A. Stelma – Kent

2012 Michael F. Oltersdorf – Leelanau

2013 Scott A. Strait - Mackinac


1 Also later served as executive director of the Michigan Sheriffs’ Association.

2 Later became president of the National Sheriffs’ Association

3. Served as executive director of the Michigan Sheriffs’ Association from 1979 to 1992.

4 Currently serves as executive director of the Michigan Sheriffs’ Association; also chaired the National Sheriffs’ Association’s Executive Directors & Presidents Committee from 2002-2003

* Elected president of the association but retired office of sheriff before assuming duties.




2014 Board of Directors
MSA's 2014 Board of Directors from left: Oceana County Sheriff Bob Farber (District III Representative), St. Clair County Sheriff Tim Donnellon (District V Representative), Mackinac County Sheriff Scott Strait (Past President), Isabella County Sheriff Leo Mioduszewski (President), Allegan County Sheriff Blaine Koops (Vice-President & District IV Rep), Crawford County Sheriff Kirk Wakefield (Secretary-Treasurer & District II Rep), Dickinson County Sheriff Scott Celello (District I Rep) and Calhoun County Sheriff Matt Saxton (New Sheriffs' Representative)

Executive Director Terrence L. Jungel, Sheriff (Ret.)
About the Director

Essay - The Office of Sheriff

Get Adobe Reader